Udo Island failed trip, Jeju Island, South Korea

You can read about the rest of my trip here: My Jeju Island trip, Hamdeok Beach, Pyoseon Haevich Beach, O’sulloc tea museum and Innisfree Jeju House, Sanbangsan Mountain, and Yongmeori Coast .

I wanted to go to Udo Island as it was a compressed version of Jeju, unfortunately the weather didn’t permit it. The waves were rough and it was getting colder. We hung out there a bit, before walking to the Port bus stop. I considered stopping at Seongsan Ilchubong but it started snowing so I decided against it. I know what it was like being stranded out there in the snow and I wasn’t about to repeat the same thing.

IMG_20180211_131816.jpg

IMG_20180211_131816

IMG_20180211_132017.jpg

We wanted to go to the Eco World park, but the snow started falling even harder and the bus didn’t stop at the stop so I gave up. I don’t want to explore anymore. We just went back to Keundongne, then stopped at the supermarket to get snacks to buy back home and went back to the room we were living in.

IMG_20180211_164557.jpg

IMG_20180211_164936.jpg

Oh and the room that we were in – during the night, when the wind blew hard, it felt like we were in a container and it shook and rattled during the night. It was not an ideal place to stay in. I probably won’t stay at that place again if I went back to Jeju. Finally, the day to leave came and by this point I was tired of the cold, I was tired of the snow, I was tired of being tired and all I want to do is to be back in my warm, dry country again.

Once again, to end our trip, we had to wait for eons for the bus, but thankfully it finally arrived. The days after a snow day are very cold and since the night before snowed, it was so chilly that day. There wasn’t even seat warmer on the bus stop but eventually we reached the airport and I could finally rest well, knowing I was on my way home.

IMG_20180212_094330.jpg
Goodbye Jeju

IMG_20180212_094342.jpg

IMG_20180212_094342

IMG_20180212_100248.jpg

IMG_20180212_100302

IMG_20180212_115556

In the end, weeks after that whole trip, I’m missing Jeju again. I know that I’d definitely go back there and this time I’ll be even more prepared. I guess it’s normal to learn new things when you travel alone – well with my mom, but I planned it all alone – but the experience it brought me taught me a lot of things.

For one, learn the language no matter what. You can only so much rely on translator app. Don’t assume people in the country could speak English, just because the Koreans you met in Malaysia or on the plane can actually converse in English.

Never, ever take the bus. Get an IDL and drive on the other side of the road like the bad ass that you are.

Don’t do couchsurfing!

Make sure the AirBnb is not a small container outside a house.

It’s better to stay in city centres than rural areas.

Of course, I wouldn’t know all that if I didn’t actually experience it first – so in the end, it’s all just a paradox.

Wait for my next adventure.

 

 

Leave a comment